Donald Trump vs. The Fox News/Republican Establishment Inquisition

Last week, the Republican Party had not one, but two “debates.” I put the debate in quotes because it sounded more like the “Let’s Interrogate Donald Trump with Questions Written by Neoconservative Scumbag Karl Rove” Show than a discussion of prospective policies. Naturally, I want to talk about the current star of the Republican Show, the guy poking the elephant with the pointy stick, Donald Trump. Whatever your position on Trump is, and if you paid attention, the guy dropped some heavy truth bombs concerning politics in America.

BAIER: Gentlemen, we know how much you love hand-raising questions. So we promise, this is the only one tonight: the only one. Is there anyone on stage, and can I see hands, who is unwilling tonight to pledge your support to the eventual nominee of the Republican party and pledge to not run an independent campaign against that person.

Again, we’re looking for you to raise your hand now — raise your hand now if you won’t make that pledge tonight.

Mr. Trump.

(BOOING)

Mr. Trump to be clear, you’re standing on a Republican primary debate stage.

TRUMP: I fully understand.

BAIER: The place where the RNC will give the nominee the nod.

TRUMP: I fully understand.

BAIER: And that experts say an independent run would almost certainly hand the race over to Democrats and likely another Clinton.

You can’t say tonight that you can make that pledge?

TRUMP: I cannot say. I have to respect the person that, if it’s not me, the person that wins, if I do win, and I’m leading by quite a bit, that’s what I want to do. I can totally make that pledge. If I’m the nominee, I will pledge I will not run as an independent. But — and I am discussing it with everybody, but I’m, you know, talking about a lot of leverage. We want to win, and we will win. But I want to win as the Republican. I want to run as the Republican nominee.

BAIER: So tonight, you can’t say if another one of these…

PAUL: This is what’s wrong!

BAIER: OK.

PAUL: I mean, this is what’s wrong. He buys and sells politicians of all stripes, he’s already…

BAIER: Dr. Paul.

PAUL: Hey, look, look! He’s already hedging his bet on the Clintons, OK? So if he doesn’t run as a Republican, maybe he supports Clinton, or maybe he runs as an independent…

BAIER: OK.

PAUL: …but I’d say that he’s already hedging his bets because he’s used to buying politicians.

TRUMP: Well, I’ve given him plenty of money.

BAIER: Just to be clear, you can’t make a — we’re gonna — we’re going to move on.

You’re not gonna make the pledge tonight?

TRUMP: I will not make the pledge at this time.

BAIER: OK. Alright.

This non-question is why I wrote that these questions were probably written by Karl Rove in conjunction with the RNC. Right off the bat, Baier attempts to extract a pledge of fealty from Trump to the Republican Party. When Trump refuses to back down, Baier cites anonymous experts stating that if he, or some other third-party candidate runs, Hillary will win, which may be true, but it’s irrelevant. It’s a variation of the argument that the Republicans deployed against libertarians in 2012 when Mitt Romney was running as Obama-lite. “Dammit guys! Can’t you just put your principles and beliefs on the shelf this one time? Sure Romney is damn near the same as Obama, but if you don’t vote for Romney, Obama will win! Surely you don’t want Obama to win a second term, do you?” That’s what this whole exchange was. Fuck your principles. Swear loyalty to the Party (Insert Big Brother gif here).

KELLY: Mr. Trump, one of the things people love about you is you speak your mind and you don’t use a politician’s filter. However, that is not without its downsides, in particular, when it comes to women.

You’ve called women you don’t like “fat pigs, dogs, slobs, and disgusting animals.”

(LAUGHTER)

Your Twitter account…

TRUMP: Only Rosie O’Donnell.

(LAUGHTER)

KELLY: No, it wasn’t.

(APPLAUSE)

Your Twitter account…

(APPLAUSE)

TRUMP: Thank you.

KELLY: For the record, it was well beyond Rosie O’Donnell.

TRUMP: Yes, I’m sure it was.

KELLY: Your Twitter account has several disparaging comments about women’s looks. You once told a contestant on Celebrity Apprentice it would be a pretty picture to see her on her knees. Does that sound to you like the temperament of a man we should elect as president, and how will you answer the charge from Hillary Clinton, who was likely to be the Democratic nominee, that you are part of the war on women?

TRUMP: I think the big problem this country has is being politically correct.

(APPLAUSE)

I’ve been challenged by so many people, and I don’t frankly have time for total political correctness. And to be honest with you, this country doesn’t have time either. This country is in big trouble. We don’t win anymore. We lose to China. We lose to Mexico both in trade and at the border. We lose to everybody.

And frankly, what I say, and oftentimes it’s fun, it’s kidding. We have a good time. What I say is what I say. And honestly Megyn, if you don’t like it, I’m sorry. I’ve been very nice to you, although I could probably maybe not be, based on the way you have treated me. But I wouldn’t do that.

(APPLAUSE)

But you know what, we — we need strength, we need energy, we need quickness and we need brain in this country to turn it around. That, I can tell you right now.

Another Rove ambush question. Here Trump displays the proper attitude of amusement and dismissal at the question programmed into Fox News Leggy Bimbo Unit-40839. He talks about Rosie O’Donnell, who, in addition to being an insufferable jackass, will give as good as she gets, and did in her exchange with Trump. But then Unit-40839 starts up the “War on Women” protocol. Again Trump waves off her bullshit question and sticks to his message. So let me take a stab at it. Only in America do women think that they have the right to not be insulted, but may freely insult anyone else. Only in America do women think that men that they do not know personally are responsible for their emotional state at any particular point in time. Don’t want to be insulted about your looks? Don’t put your looks out in the public for scrutiny. Don’t want to get into a Twitter slapfight with Donald Trump? Don’t Tweet him. You can’t get into a fight and then complain that the other guy keeps punching you in the nose. But I keep forgetting, feminism has taught women that cause and effect doesn’t apply to them because VAGINA.

BAIER: Gentlemen, the next series of questions deals with ObamaCare and the role of the federal government.

Mr. Trump, ObamaCare is one of the things you call a disaster.

TRUMP: A complete disaster, yes.

BAIER: Saying it needs to be repealed and replaced.

TRUMP: Correct.

BAIER: Now, 15 years ago, uncalled yourself a liberal on health care. You were for a single-payer system, a Canadian-style system.

Why were you for that then and why aren’t you for it now?

TRUMP: First of all, I’d like to just go back to one. In July of 2004, I came out strongly against the war with Iraq, because it was going to destabilize the Middle East. And I’m the only one on this stage that knew that and had the vision to say it. And that’s exactly what happened.

BAIER: But on ObamaCare…

TRUMP: And the Middle East became totally destabilized. So I just want to say.

As far as single payer, it works in Canada. It works incredibly well in Scotland. It could have worked in a different age, which is the age you’re talking about here.

What I’d like to see is a private system without the artificial lines around every state. I have a big company with thousands and thousands of employees. And if I’m negotiating in New York or in New Jersey or in California, I have like one bidder. Nobody can bid.

You know why?

Because the insurance companies are making a fortune because they have control of the politicians, of course, with the exception of the politicians on this stage.

But they have total control of the politicians. They’re making a fortune.

Get rid of the artificial lines and you will have…

(BUZZER NOISE)

TRUMP: — yourself great plans. And then we have to take care of the people that can’t take care of themselves. And I will do that through a different system.

The third of Karl Rove’s “gotcha” questions tailored exclusively for Trump. But Trump starts in with some uncomfortable truth. The first is that the Iraq War destabilized the Middle East, which is did. Something has to fill a vacuum of political power. The Iraqi puppet government was not suited to that task, so now, ISIS/ISIL/IS is stepping into that gap.

The second is the insurance industry and the insidious nature of regulatory capture. Insurance providers successfully captured the regulatory agencies of the states they reside in and use those “artificial lines” as Trump put them, to turn each step into a separate “health insurance fiefdom” so that another insurance company from out of state can’t come in, undercut them, and take their precious dollars. Which is why Trump only has one bidder in New York, New Jersey, or California. That one bidder is usually the one whose former or future board members are on the state’s regulatory committee.

BAIER: Mr. Trump, it’s not just your past support for single- payer health care. You’ve also supported a host of other liberal policies. Use — you’ve also donated to several Democratic candidates, Hillary Clinton included, Nancy Pelosi.

You explained away those donations saying you did that to get business-related favors.

And you said recently, quote, “When you give, they do whatever the hell you want them to do.”

TRUMP: You’d better believe it.

BAIER: So what specifically did…

UNIDENTIFIED MALE: That’s true.

BAIER: — they do?

TRUMP: If I ask them, if I need them, you know, most of the people on this stage I’ve given to, just so you understand, a lot of money.

UNIDENTIFIED MALE: Not me.

CARSON: Not me.

(LAUGHTER)

UNIDENTIFIED MALE: But you’re welcome to give me (INAUDIBLE) Donald if you’d like.

TRUMP: Many of them.

UNIDENTIFIED MALE: Actually, to be clear…

(CROSSTALK)

RUBIO: — he supported Charlie Crist.

TRUMP: Not much.

UNIDENTIFIED MALE: Hey, Charlie…

(CROSSTALK)

TRUMP: But I…

(CROSSTALK)

TRUMP: — Donald, if you…

(CROSSTALK) TRUMP: I have good…

UNIDENTIFIED MALE: — this campaign, I hope you will give to me.

TRUMP: Good.

UNIDENTIFIED MALE: OK.

TRUMP: Sounds good. Sounds good to me, Governor.

I will tell you that our system is broken. I gave to many people, before this, before two months ago, I was a businessman. I give to everybody. When they call, I give.

And do you know what?

When I need something from them two years later, three years later, I call them, they are there for me.

UNIDENTIFIED MALE: So what did you get?

TRUMP: And that’s a broken system.

UNIDENTIFIED MALE: What did you get from Hillary Clinton and Nancy Pelosi?

TRUMP: Well, I’ll tell you what, with Hillary Clinton, I said be at my wedding and she came to my wedding.

You know why?

She didn’t have a choice because I gave. I gave to a foundation that, frankly, that foundation is supposed to do good. I didn’t know her money would be used on private jets going all over the world. It was.

But…

(BUZZER NOISE)

(CROSSTALK)

This was the truth bomb of the evening. Actually, it the “Holy Shit, the Establishment Is Going To Put A Bullet In His Head” moment. It’s one thing to whine about “the fatcats” and how they own politicians. It’s an entirely different thing for one of them to stand up in front of 24 million people and say “yes, I own politicians, including the Democrat Heir Apparent, Hillary Clinton, and some of the people on this stage.” Even more telling is that some of the Republicans on the stage kept their mouths shut tighter than a nun’s thighs. It also laid bare the fact that the two major political parties in America are, in most things, one in the same, especially when it comes to keeping themselves, and their donors, in power.

So long as you give, it doesn’t matter who wins because you can still order them to come to your third or fourth wedding (whichever one Trump is on).

Even if you don’t like Donald Trump, watching this debate, the only reasonable conclusion to draw, based on the questions and the focus, is that Donald Trump has the Republican apparatchiks losing their minds. They tried to bury him with the Mexico statements. They tried to bury him with McCain. That didn’t work. Now they are, in height of this farce called the Democrat and Republican parties, deploying the “War on Women” argument against Trump that the Democrats use against Republicans by way of Fox News Leggy Bimbo Unit-40839 aka Megyn Kelly.

Leave a Reply

